Forest of Reading banner

The Red Maple Award™

Red Maple Award Logo

The Red Maple Award™ features Canadian books in two lists for student ages 12 to 13 year olds in grades 7 and 8. A fiction list is offered every year, while the non-fiction list is offered every other year.

Nominees are announced in October of each year and voting opens in April of the following year.


Lastest Winners

2018 Fiction Winner & 2017 Non-Fiction Winner

Check out the latest Red Maple Award™ winners:

The Winnowing Child Soldier

Current Non-Fiction Nominees

2017 Non-Fiction Nominees

A non-fiction nominees list is offered every other year. The next list will be announced in October of 2018 for the 2019 award year. Continue to enjoy the 2017 non-fiction nominees.

A Beginner's Guide to Immortality Bite into Bloodsuckers Child Soldier DNA Detective Faster Higher Smarter Hidden Gold Pride Transphobia Urban Tribes Vanished